Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Recovery centers in Puerto Rico after Irene

State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers to Open 30 August
Release Date: August 29, 2011
Release Number: 4017-002

» More Information on Puerto Rico Hurricane Irene

SAN JUAN, PR -- On Tuesday August 29, 2011, five State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open in Caguas, Canóvanas, Cayey, Luquillo and San Juan, to support applicants which have already registered by phone or internet, for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Eligible individuals and families may apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or via internet at, or via phone application

"Apply first. If you go to the Center without having registered, the process will be delayed. If you need advice or additional information, then go visit these centers," said Federal Coordinating Officer Justo Hernandez. "Applying for disaster assistance is a call or a click away."

Partnering with State and Municipal governments, FEMA will provide applicants with an opportunity to talk face-to-face with experienced personnel about: disaster assistance, voluntary agencies disaster assistance available and preventive measures to mitigate damages to property and life.

DRC operating hours are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Sunday. Centers will be available at the following locations:

DRC in Caguas
Centro de Gobierno de Caguas
Calle Goyco esq.
Calle Acosta Caguas, P.R. 00725

DRC in Luquillo
Salón de Los Alcaldes
Calle 14 de julio esq. José M. Lugo Bo. Pueblo
Luquillo, P.R. 00773

DRC in Canóvanas
Centro Usos Múltiples de Canóvanas
Calle Pepita Albandóz Esq.
Autonomía Canóvanas, P.R. 00729

DRC in San Juan
Estadio Hiram Bithorn
Ave. Franklin Delano Roosevelt
Hato Rey, P.R. 00917

DRC in Cayey
Estadio Pedro Montañez
Calle Muñoz Rivera
Norte Conector Matías Soto
Comunidad San Cristóbal
Cayey, P.R .00736

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Hurricane Irene in Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Loiza, Luquillo, and San Juan eligible for disaster assistance. This assistance may include temporary housing, home repairs and other uninsured, disaster-related necessary expenses and serious needs.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Modified b FEMA: Tuesday, 30-Aug-2011 12:44:09"